Hello World!

This is my introductory blog post.  First and foremost, let me introduce myself.  My name is Matthew Carlberg, and I am a pre-service mathematics teacher.  I am in the process of earning a Master of Arts in Teaching Degree from Bard College and will graduate in June 2011.  I am currently student teaching at International Community High School in the South Bronx, and I plan to become a full-time New York City public school mathematics teacher in September 2011.  I am a proud Math For America fellow.  They have graciously agreed to pay me extra for a job that I would do for free (at least for now).   In a previous life, I was an electrical engineer, as you can gather from exploring my website.

This is a blog that I am going to use to report about all aspects of learning to become a teacher, as well as all of the pain and joy of first year of teaching.  I’ll try to post as much as I can.  I apologize in advance for my naivety, having not yet been through the immense journey of first-year teaching.

Now, the fun stuff.  We had a snow day in New York City today.  One of the best things of being in a small program like the Bard MAT, with a tight-knit cohort of Math For America fellows, is that we play together in the snow.  And to show how cool we are, here is a snow sculpture that we made in Central Park.   While most kids probably had no idea what it was, any math teacher will know immediately…

This entry was posted in Bard MAT, Math for America. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hello World!

  1. Caitlin says:

    Here’s support for your publishing endeavor from a Lit classmate. Your snow sign rising from the fields of Central Park will hopefully last at least until Pi Day…

  2. mcarlberg says:

    Thanks for the support, Caitlin!

  3. John says:

    Well, this might be random but I saw a friend of mine sharing this on his facebook and I think it’s really hilarious =D

    (Google “math dance moves” in images)

Leave a Reply

